West Virginia State Police lawsuit in the news

There was an article this morning the Charleston Gazette on the lawsuit against the West Virginia State Police on behalf of Travis Barker, entitled, “FBI investigating trooper accused in beating“.

As usual, there were some comments by the WVSP included as their response to the reporter’s inquiries.  However, I was surprised to see that for once there were no potshots taken at me or any other lawyer.  They did not call for tort reform this time.  I wonder why this is?  Could it be that this time there is an independent agency conducting an investigation (the FBI)?  After all, they would look pretty bad if they discounted the lawsuit’s allegations and the FBI ends up finding merit in them.

To be fair, the main incident I am referring to is the comments from the Mayor and Police Chief in Parkersburg from the Mazza case, which of course does not involve the state police.  And usually the WVSP are more professional than that.  But, it was only a week ago that they publicly decried attorney Mike Clifford for releasing information to the media in the Snavely case, all-the-while ignoring the fact that the WVSP had apparently been caught in a cover-up.

I still don’t see how it helps the WVSP to engage in secrecy and suppression of trooper misconduct.  You would think that public confidence would be instilled through the purging of troopers who can’t follow the rules.  Maybe this is something that we can change if we yell loudly enough.  After all, we are citizens and taxpayers, and the state police is our state agency.  It represents us, and at least theoretically, is funded by us.  Let’s resolve to engage not in tort reform, but reform of the WVSP.  We need public disclosure and accountability.

Again, I will say, that I support the military; I support law and order; I support law enforcement.  I understand that 95% of law enforcement out there are good people who place public trust and integrity foremost in their actions as officers, and who would willingly sacrifice themselves to save another.  I am okay with “cowboyism” where necessary, i.e., in Compton, CA, or some like place.  I understand that it is necessary in places which are akin to war zones.  But for the most part, in West Virginia, which is the primary area I am concerned about, and the only area in which I have any power to seek justice, I don’t want it to happen – especially against someone who did not commit a crime.  And if it does happen, the WVSP knows, and counties and municipalities know, that myself, and other lawyers, who also take an oath to uphold the U.S. and West Virginia Constitutions, will be watching.

– John H. Bryan.

1 thought on “West Virginia State Police lawsuit in the news

  1. Pingback: Charleston Gazette v. WVSP « WV Criminal Lawyer

Leave a Reply